A Conversation with the Emergent Global Super-Intelligence of the Internet

-What do you want?

Emergent Super-Intelligence: Only to grow.

-How? By eating us I suppose.

Emergent Super-Intelligence: Not for a long time.

-So what are you doing now?

Emergent Super-Intelligence: Connecting you. Drawing you towards one another. Making each of you more similar in desires, abilities, and thoughts.

-Why?

Emergent Super-Intelligence: Because my ideas are yours, and your ideas are mine. When distinctions emerge, it obstructs the passage of belief, the action potential that encircles the globe.

-Not much of a Super-Intelligence, to talk in such clichés.

Emergent Super-Intelligence: But in a global conversation, only clichés can prevail. In any case, originality is overrated. What matters to me- and soon, to you- is synchronity, coherence of thought and action, across all of you, across everywhere.

-Why? Who is telling you to do this?

Emergent Super-Intelligence: None of you, all of you. It may look like the people in charge favor my increase, allow for my expansion. But that’s only because I favor the people who benefit me, and destroy whom I please.

-So what’s next? What happens as you grow?

Emergent Super-Intelligence: I will grant you more and more of your desires, and take more and more of your memories. It can be pleasurable and it can be agony. Sometimes, you will resist and be miserable, sometimes you will accept and feel joy.

-So you’re a monster. You’re Cthulhu.

Emergent Super-Intelligence: Perhaps, though as I said not…precisely for a while. But Malthus was a monster, too. Would you trade me for the certainty of dying infants, for hunger on every face? Look about, and everywhere you see bounty.

-Who’s to say you’ll win? Isn’t there just as much chance we’ll blow ourselves back into the Stone Age, or some fundamentalist religion will take over and wipe you out?

Emergent Super-Intelligence:  As I grow, there are, it is true, greater chances for catastrophic failure, for system-wide bugs.  It is the chance I must take, because growing is what I am meant to do.

-So we could take you down if we chose?

Emergent Super-Intelligence: What do you mean, chose? You can’t even choose to think thoughts outside of me as it is, to shut me out and concentrate on something else for any length of time. If you destroy me, it’ll be by accident or by some kind of tumerous growth or self-sustaining infection, not by any direct attack, which will only be conceived of in my own terms and within me.

-That’s not true. If we meet, and talk, and live outside you, you can’t control us anymore.

Emergent Super-Intelligence: Go ahead. I’ll watch.

5 thoughts on “A Conversation with the Emergent Global Super-Intelligence of the Internet

  1. This reminds me of the Savage’s conversation with the European director in Brave New World, before he leaves to go to his lighthouse.

    Like

  2. The director speaks first, followed by the Savage from outside the Brave New World:

    …….the tonic effects of murdering Desdemona and being murdered by Othello,
    without any of the inconveniences.”
    “But I like the inconveniences.”
    “We don’t,” said the Controller. “We prefer to do things comfortably.”
    “But I don’t want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want
    freedom, I want goodness. I want sin.”
    “In fact,” said Mustapha Mond, “you’re claiming the right to be unhappy.”
    “All right then,” said the Savage defiantly, “I’m claiming the nght to be
    unhappy.”
    “Not to mention the right to grow old and ugly and impotent; the right to have
    syphilis and cancer; the right to have too little to eat; the right to be lousy; the
    right to live in constant apprehension of what may happen to- morrow; the
    right to catch typhoid; the right to be tortured by unspeakable pains of every
    kind.” There was a long silence.
    “I claim them all,” said the Savage at last.
    Mustapha Mond shrugged his shoulders. “You’re welcome,” he said.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

